Class Notes: Class of 1976

Gene Nichol, Class of

Gene Nichol has recently joined the Board of Trustees of the Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP), a national antipoverty organization based in Washington, D.C.

Carla Cox, Class of

Carla Cox passed away November 29, 2019. Carla was a trusted and fearless lawyer on behalf of her clients, a leader at Jackson Walker, and a trailblazer for women in the legal profession. Carla’s commitment to elevating the legal profession, healthcare industry, and Austin community was demonstrated through her service as a member of the Leaders Circle at the University of Texas Center for Women in Law (CWIL), as well as her work with the Chancellor’s Council of the University of Texas System, among many other worthy causes. Among her many accolades was the Travis County Women Lawyers Association 2017 Pathfinder award, given to women lawyers who have been trailblazers in the legal profession in Travis County.

Read More

T. Ray Guy, Class of

T. Ray Guy, a Litigation partner in the Dallas office of international law firm Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, has earned recognition as a 2019 Texas Super Lawyer. Texas Super Lawyers rates lawyers from more than 70 practice areas who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement. The selection process is based on independent research, peer nominations and peer evaluations, and only 5% of attorneys in each state are included in the Super Lawyers list each year.

Paul Woodrow, Class of

Paul Woodrow passed away in February 2018. A longtime resident of Barrington, Illinois, Paul was retired after a long career in Human Resources. He is survived by his wife, Christina, and their children, Katherine, Andrew and Aaron. A fuller obituary may be found online at the link below.

Read More

Linda L. Addison, Class of

KPMG LLP, the U.S. audit, tax and advisory firm, is pleased to announce the appointment of Linda L. Addison '76 as an independent director to its U.S. Board of Directors. Addison is the immediate past U.S. Managing Partner (CEO equivalent) of Norton Rose Fulbright, one of the world's largest global law firms.

Read More

T. Ray Guy, Class of


T. Ray Guy, a partner in Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP’s Dallas office, has been named a Texas Super Lawyer. Texas Super Lawyers is a rating service of lawyers from more than 70 practice areas that is based on peer recognition and professional achievement. Though published in Texas through Texas Monthly magazine, the ratings are conducted through a national publication, Super Lawyers magazine, which publishes Super Lawyer rankings in each of the 50 states.

Ray Guy, Class of

International law firm Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP today announced that Ray Guy of the firm’s Dallas office has been named to D Magazine’s Best Lawyers in Dallas 2017 list.

Jim Morriss headshot

James C. Morriss III, Class of

Thompson & Knight LLP is pleased to congratulate Jim Morriss, who was named to the 2016 Who’s Who Legal 100. Morriss was recognized for his work in environmental law.

Ron Franklin, Class of

McGuireWoods partner Ron Franklin, a highly acclaimed bet-the-company litigator, is featured by the National Law Journal in its Litigation Trailblazers issue published today. The publication recognizes top lawyers who have changed the practice of litigation with innovative legal strategies.

J. Scott Sheehan, Class of

J. Scott Sheehan, a shareholder with the international law firm Greenberg Traurig, LLP, was recently elected as president-elect of the Texas Association of Bank Counsel (TABC) at its 39th annual convention in New Orleans.

Steven L. Barghols, Class of

Three University of Texas College of Law graduates were recently named as 2016 Best Lawyers in America’s "Lawyer of the Year.”

Steven L. Barghols, David L. Bryant and David E. Keglovits of GableGotwals received the honor from Best Lawyers. Barghols of Oklahoma City was honored for his work in Arbitration, Bryant of Tulsa was honored for his work in Bet-the-Company Litigation and Keglovits of Tulsa was honored for his work in Corporate Governance Law.