Class Notes: Class of 1981

Mark D. Strachan, Class of


Mark D. Strachan joined the Dallas office of Bradley Arant Boult Cummings as Counsel. He has tried patent cases to verdict in Texas federal courts and has argued at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. A native of East Texas, he has served at East Texas Baptist University in Marshall as an adjunct professor. He is Board Certified in Civil Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and is an associate of the American Board of Trial Advocates. He is a Texas Super Lawyer.

Carolyn Owen, Class of

Carolyn Owen, Senior Vice President and General Counsel at Farm Credit Bank of Texas, will retire form the cooperatively owned wholesale funding bank on Dec. 31, after 35 years of Farm Credit Service. Owen joined the legal department of the Federal Intermediate Credit Bank of Texas in 1983. Over the years and through several bank name changes, she has held the positions of attorney, senior attorney, associate general counsel, assistant general counsel and deputy general counsel.

Read More

Michael J. Gibbens, Class of


Michael J. Gibbens was honored in the Chambers & Partners 2018 USA Directory in the litigation: general commercial area of legal practice. Gibbens is an attorney in Crowe & Dunlevy's Tulsa office.

David L. Bryant, Class of

GableGotwals is pleased to announce David L. Bryant was named to the Top 50 List of Attorneys in Oklahoma. He was selected as a 2017 Oklahoma Super Lawyer in the practice areas of Business Litigation, Insurance Coverage, and Professional Liability. David has been elected to Super Lawyers since 2006.

Read More

Virginia Hamilton Snell, Class of

Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP is pleased to announce that Virginia Hamilton Snell, Partner and University of Texas School of Law alumna, has been recognized by Woodward White's The Best Lawyers in America©, one of the most highly regarded peer-review publications for the legal profession. Ms. Snell received recognition for her work in the following practice areas:
• Appellate Practice
• Bet-the-Company Litigation
• Commercial Litigation
• Litigation - Securities

Virginia Hamilton Snell, Class of


Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP is pleased to announce that Virginia Hamilton Snell, Partner, has been recognized in Litigation Law and Securities Law by Best Lawyers® as “Lawyer of the Year” for the publication’s 2018 edition. Best Lawyers® is the oldest and most respected peer-review publication in the legal profession. Only one lawyer in each practice area in a given community is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.”

Virginia Snell, Class of

Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP is pleased to announce that the Louisville Bar Foundation has approved the nomination of Virginia H. Snell to its Board of Directors.

Virginia Snell, Class of

Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, LLP is pleased to announce that Benchmark Litigation 2017 has recognized Virginia Hamilton Snell, Partner in the Firm’s Litigation & Dispute Resolution Service Team, as a “litigation star” for the publication’s 10th Anniversary Edition. The publication’s “litigation stars” reflect lawyers who are recommended by peers and clients as having established consistent reputations as trial attorneys. The guide honors the firms and attorneys who have demonstrated the ability to consistently handle complex, high-stakes cases in multiple jurisdictions.

Terry Thomas headshot

Terry Thomas, Class of

The Litigation Counsel of America recently named longtime Sand Springs resident and Crowe and Dunlevy attorney Terry Thomas a senior fellow. Thomas was recognized for his work in business, bankruptcy and banking law.

David L. Bryant, Class of

Three University of Texas College of Law graduates were recently named as 2016 Best Lawyers in America’s "Lawyer of the Year.”

Steven L. Barghols, David L. Bryant and David E. Keglovits of GableGotwals received the honor from Best Lawyers. Barghols of Oklahoma City was honored for his work in Arbitration, Bryant of Tulsa was honored for his work in Bet-the-Company Litigation and Keglovits of Tulsa was honored for his work in Corporate Governance Law.