Class Notes: Class of 1982

Ashton Cumberbatch, Class of

During the 2020 Andrea Pair Bryant Legacy Luncheon, Austin Black Lawyers Association (ABLA) honored Former Police Monitor Ashton Cumberbatch for his service to ABLA and the legal community.

Michael Mery, Class of


The San Antonio Bar Foundation (SABF) is pleased to announce the appointment of the Honorable Judge Michael Mery to the SABF Fellows Program newly-elected 2020 class.

Read More

David D. Vineyard, Class of


David Vineyard, JD, MD, had the pleasure of leading a charity climb up Mount Kilimanjaro last July to benefit Neema Village, an orphanage in Arusha,Tanzania

Chris Reynolds, Class of

Litigation Partner

Reynolds Frizzell Partner Chris Reynolds was inducted into the International Academy of Trial Lawyers (IATL) at their 2019 Annual Meeting. Founded in 1954, the Academy is known for an extremely rigorous vetting process and is recognized as the most prestigious organization of trial lawyers in the world. The Academy seeks out Fellows who have achieved a career of excellence as shown by their skills in trial, and as demonstrated by their integrity and professionalism.

Read More

Arleas Upton Kea, Class of

Arleas Upton Kea, the President of Texas Law's Alumni Association, has been named Chief Operating Officer and Deputy to the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). Kea replaces Barbara Ryan, who retired as COO on July 27. Prior to her appointment as COO, Ms. Kea served as director of the Division of Administration, a post she has held since May 1999.

Read More

Ashton G. Cumberbatch, Jr., Class of

McGinnis Lochridge welcomes Ashton G. Cumberbatch, Jr. as a special counsel in the firm, effective May 1. His primary practice areas include alternative dispute resolution and labor-employment law. He is rejoining McGinnis Lochridge after working at the firm previously from 1989 to 2002, including a period as leader of a period as leader of the employment law section.

Read More

James E. (Jim) Smith, Class of

James (Jim) Smith recently joined the Crain Caton & James (CCJ) law firm as Shareholder in the Environmental and Intellectual Practice Areas. His practice principally focuses on environmental matters including counseling, supporting transactions, and trying cases. He also has experience in intellectual property matters and is registered before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as a patent attorney.

Joe Pevsner headshot

Joe Pevsner, Class of

The law firm of Thompson & Knight LLPis pleased to congratulate Joe Pevsner for his inclusion in D Magazine’s “Best Lawyers in Dallas 2016,” which is featured in the magazine’s May issue.

Steve Demby headshot

Steve Demby, Class of

Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck is pleased to announce that Steve Demby, a shareholder in the firm’s Denver office and a member of its executive committee, recently was appointed to serve on the board of directors of the American Israel Public Affairs Committee (AIPAC). His term starts in March 2016 and will initially last a period of three years.

Carrin Patman headshot

Carrin Patman, Class of

Center for Women in Law founder Carrin Patman was recently appointed Chair of the Houston Metro Board.

Read More

Joseph S. Pevsner, Class of

Joseph S. Pevsner was named “Local Litigation Star” in Texas by Benchmark Litigation 2016.