Class Notes: Class of 1990

Mike Schira, Class of

Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP is proud to announce that Vorys Attorney Mike Schira, who is a University of Texas School of Law alumnus, has been included in the 2020 Best Lawyers in America list.

Read More

The Honorable Jane N. Bland, Class of


Former Texas First Court of Appeals Justice Jane Bland has joined Vinson & Elkins as a partner. Bland brings to the firm more than 20 years of experience as a state appellate justice and civil trial judge. She will be based in V&E’s Houston office. As a member of the firm’s Appellate practice, Bland will focus on civil appeals and litigation.

Read More

Patrick J McLain, Class of

The Law Office of Patrick J McLain, an national practice of federal criminal law and an international practice of military law, is moving to Founders Square (900 Jackson Street, Suite 635, Dallas, Texas 75202). He welcomes on UT Law grads who have business next door at the US District Court in downtown Dallas to come by for a visit.

Robin L. Miskell, Class of

Member Partner, Dickinson Wright

Chambers 2018 High Net Worth (HNW) Guide has named Robin Miskell a leader in her field. Ms. Miskell is a certified estate and trust law specialist by the State Bar of Arizona. She practices primarily in the areas of estate planning, probate and trust administration, taxation and exempt organizations.

Read More

Avalyn Langemeier, Class of

Partner of Foster LLP

Avalyn Langemeier was honored in Who's Who Legal 2018 as a leading corporate immigration attorney. Avalyn is Partner at Foster LLP and assists employers, including companies, universities, and hospitals, as well as physicians, nurses, researchers and professors, executives, teachers and other professionals in obtaining work visas and permanent residence.

Michael Whellan, Class of

Armbrust & Brown, PLLC—a distinguished homegrown law firm in Austin—today announced that Michael Whellan, a former president and shareholder of Graves, Dougherty, Hearon & Moody, will officially join the firm on Jan. 15, 2018. Joining along with Whellan will be Travis Phillips, a former shareholder of Graves, Dougherty, Hearon & Moody.
For more than 25 years, Whellan has represented clients in land-use and business matters at the courthouse and before city and county government.

Read More

David E. Keglovits, Class of

GableGotwals is pleased to announce David E. Keglovits (1990) was selected as a 2017 Oklahoma Super Lawyer in the practice areas of Business Litigation, Utilities and Construction Litigation. David has been elected to Super Lawyers since 2006.

Read More

Michael Schira, Class of

Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP is proud to announce that Michael Schira, a partner in the Vorys Columbus office and a 1990 graduate of the University of Texas School of Law, has been included on the 2018 Best Lawyers in America list. Schira was selected as a Best Lawyer in Real Estate Law.

Phillip Sharp, Class of

Phillip Sharp has joined Baker Donelson's Business Litigation Group in Houston as a shareholder.

Paul Tobias, Class of

Corporate attorney Paul Tobias, widely regarded for his work with technology and growth companies, has joined Vinson & Elkins LLP as a partner in the firm’s Austin office. Tobias represents technology companies in all phases of their growth, from startup and venture financing, to acquisitions and public offerings and public company governance. He previously practiced at Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, where he was the founding partner of the firm’s Austin office.

Read Vinson & Elkins' full press release
Marcus Tucker headshot

Marcus Tucker, Class of

Phelps Dunbar LLP is pleased to announce that Marcus R. Tucker has joined its Houston, Texas office as a partner practicing in the areas of admiralty, litigation and insurance. Tucker’s practice includes the defense and investigation of claims resulting from oilfield and maritime casualties, construction defects, personal injury and transportation related accidents. His practice also involves the litigation of commercial disputes through trial and arbitration. Mr. Tucker litigates and provides advice on contractual indemnity and insurance coverage issues on behalf of both corporate clients and insurance companies. He joins the firm from Royston Rayzor where he was partner.

Joseph R. Knight, Class of

Ewell, Brown & Blanke LLP is pleased to announce that Joseph R. Knight has joined the firm as a partner and the firm has changed its name to Ewell, Brown, Blanke & Knight LLP.

David E. Keglovits, Class of

Three University of Texas College of Law graduates were recently named as 2016 Best Lawyers in America’s "Lawyer of the Year.”

Steven L. Barghols, David L. Bryant and David E. Keglovits of GableGotwals received the honor from Best Lawyers. Barghols of Oklahoma City was honored for his work in Arbitration, Bryant of Tulsa was honored for his work in Bet-the-Company Litigation and Keglovits of Tulsa was honored for his work in Corporate Governance Law.