CWIL Biennial Award Luncheon

The Center for Women in Law, through the Hortense Ward Courageous Leader Award, seeks to recognize on a biennial basis one outstanding woman lawyer who exemplifies Ward’s tenacity, courage, and commitment in her efforts to achieve gender parity in positions of leadership, influence, and responsibility in the legal profession as set out in the Austin Manifesto.

Past recipients of the award:

Michele Mayes Headshot 2014

2016 Honoree
Michele Coleman Mayes,
Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary
New York Public Library

(Watch her acceptance speech here)



2014 Honoree
Mary Cranston
Senior Partner (ret.) and Past Chair
Pillsbury LLP

(Watch her acceptance speech here)