Center for Women in Law

Convening leaders, generating ideas, leading change.

2011 Leadership Boot Camp

On February 18, 2011, the Center for Women in Law at The University of Texas School of Law hosted its second annual Leadership Boot Camp. The Leadership Boot Camp is a limited enrollment, all-day, intensive workshop for third-year law students, judicial clerks, and LL.M. students.   “The Leadership Boot Camp provides women students and new graduates with critical skills needed to successfully navigate their careers in a profession that currently does not support their advancement,” explained Linda Bray Chanow, Executive Director of the Center. 

The hallmark of the Leadership Boot Camp is the combination of lecture and applied learning workshops. Expert trainers delivered lectures in effective communication, self-promotion, and networking. Following each lecture, students worked in interactive small groups of four to six students with two experienced attorneys to perfect these skills and receive individualized critiques.  Read more.


“I would wholeheartedly recommend Boot Camp to everyone in law school. In fact, I wish that I could go through it once more.”

                              – 2011 Leadership Boot Camp Attendee



Barbara Miller, Senior Communications Trainer and Speaker to Amlaw 200 Law Firms, Barbara B. Miller Communication

Karen Lockwood, Principal, The Lockwood Group

Diane Darling, Founder and CEO, Effective Networking


Jennifer Aufricht, Thompson Coe

Victoria Benitez, Texas RioGrande Legal Aid

Michelle Sloane Bourianoff, AT&T

Kimberly S. Bowers, Valero Energy Corporation

Emma Cano, Haynes and Boone, LLP

Patricia Carls, Carls, McDonald & Dalrymple, LLP

Henry De La Garza, Office of the Attorney General of Texas

Martha S. Dickie, Almanza, Blackburn & Dickie, LLP

Mary Schaerdel Dietz, K&L Gates LLP

Bethann Eccles, Eccles & McIntosh, PC

Lori K. Erwin, Thompson Coe

Sarah B. Foster, HaynesBoone

Marcy Hogan Greer, Fulbright & Jaworski LLP

Toya Cirica Cook Haley, Texas Health and Human Services Commission

Laura E. Hannusch, Pillsbury Wintrhop Shaw Pitman LLP

Rina Y. Hartline, CenterPoint Energy, Inc.

Diana M. Hudson, Andrews Kurth LLP

Cisselon Nichols Hurd, Shell Oil Company

Dana C. Jewell

Francés Jones, The Law Firm of Francés Jones

Kurt Kuhn, Brown McCarroll, LLP

Kathleen Cooper Lake, Vinson & Elkins LLP

JoAnne Wallace McIntosh, Eccles & McIntosh, PC

Jessica C. Mederson, Vinson & Elkins LLP

Mary Simmons Mendoza, Haynes and Boone, LLP

Christine Montoya, State Farm Insurance Companies

Susan G. Morrison, The Fowler Law Firm P.C.

Catherine C. Mosbacher, Center for Houston’s Future

Sandra L. Phillips, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP

Tracie J. Renfroe, King & Spalding

Chris Schmitt, Vinson & Elkins LLP

Julia A. Simon, Mary Kay Inc.

Angela Vogeli, Teacher Retirement System of Texas

Gail Watkins, Fulbright & Jaworski LLP

Michelle Watson, State Farm Insurance Companies

Susan G. Zachos, Law Offices of Susan G. Zachos

The Leadership Boot Camp is offered free to students thanks to the generosity of the Center’s Founding Members and the following event sponsors:


Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.

Locke Lord Bissell & Liddell LLP