Center for Women in Law

Convening leaders, generating ideas, leading change.

Allene Evans

Allene Evans is a health law attorney in the University of Texas System Office of General Counsel. As a member of the Health Law Section, she provides legal advice and counsel to the UT System health institutions regarding operational, regulatory, and transactional matters and is involved in the management of claims and litigation relating to the care and treatment of patients by UT physicians and residents and licensing matters by the Texas Medical Board.

Ms. Evans has more than 30 years of litigation experience in both private practice and government service with an emphasis on complex litigation, discovery management, problem solving, dispute resolution, bridge building and advocacy. She has specialized in litigating major products liability and catastrophic injury and death cases as a sole practitioner and as a partner of Perry & Haas, L.L.P. Previously, Ms. Evans was appointed by Governor Ann Richards to the Texas State Board of Insurance. She also served as Chief of the Antitrust Division of Texas Attorney General’s Office, and as an Assistant Attorney General representing Texas financial regulatory and enforcement agencies and as a felony prosecutor. Earlier in her career, Ms. Evans worked at a Minneapolis law firm specializing in health law matters and as an associate counsel at Northwestern National Life Insurance Company.

Ms. Evans received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Adams State College, Alamosa, Colorado and her JD cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School. She is admitted to practice before the state courts of Texas, Colorado and Minnesota and the United States Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals for the Fifth and Ninth Circuits and United States District Courts of the Western, Southern, Northern and Eastern Districts of Texas. Ms. Evans has served as the Chair of the Antitrust & Business Litigation Section of the State Bar of Texas, the Texas Chair of the Texas-Mexico Bar Association and is a long-time board member and current board chair of Texas Appleseed.