Center for Women in Law

Convening leaders, generating ideas, leading change.

Women in Law Institute, formerly Leadership Boot Camp

March 22, 2013 University of Texas School of Law Austin, TX

On Friday, March 22nd, the Center for Women in Law hosted the third annual Women in Law Institute, formerly Leadership Boot Camp. The Women in Law Institute is a limited enrollment, all-day, intensive workshop for second and third-year law students, judicial clerks, and LL.M. students. 

“The Women in Law Institute gives female students and recent graduates the unique opportunity to develop critical skills needed to successfully navigate their careers with individualized critiques from leading professionals,” explained Linda Chanow, Executive Director of the Center.  Read more.


View photos from the 2013 Women in Law Institute


What Students are Saying about the Women in Law Institute:

“The opportunity to practice skills was incredibly valuable.”

“It was the most helpful one-day conference I’ve attended.”


Karen Lockwood, Principal, The Lockwood Group

Victoria Pynchon, Founder, She Negotiates

Diane Darling, Founder and CEO, Effective Networking

 Distinguished Faculty:

The Honorable Nancy F. Atlas, The United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas

Lanesha Anderson, ABM Industries Incorporated

Jennifer Aufricht, Thompson, Coe, Cousins & Irons, LLP

Molly Bartholow, Bartholow & Bartholow

Laura Jean Baughman, Baron & Budd, PC

Stacy Brainin, Haynes & Boone, LLP

Linda Broocks, Ogden Gibson Broocks Longoria & Hall, LLP

Ophelia Camina, Susman Godfrey LLP

Emma Cano, Haynes and Boone LLP

Darryl Carter, Carter & Bachynsky, L.L.P.

Jennifer Cheskiewicz, Carlson Capital, L.P.

Karan Ciotti, Ogden Gibson Broocks Longoria & Hall, LLP

Stacy Cobb, Haynes and Boone LLP

D’Lesli Davis, Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.

Adrienne Dominguez, Thompson & Knight

Kevin Edmundson, Hohmann, Taube & Summers, L.L.P.

Allene Evans, UT System Office of General Counsel

Ellen Finlay, Jury Focus

Kathryn Freeman, Texas Appleseed

Lisa Genecov, Locke Lord Bissell & Liddell LLP

Iris Gibson, Haynes and Boone, LLP

Melanie Gray, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Toya Haley, Texas Health and Human Services

Peg Hall, Sonnenchein Nath & Rosenthal LLP

Laura Hannusch, Pillsbury Wintrhop Shaw Pittman LLP

Lauren Harrison, Jones Walker

Cisselon Nichols Hurd, Shell Oil Company

James Hurd

Nancy Huston, The Mediation Offices of Nancy Huston

Sedora Jefferson, Texas Association of School Board

Anne Johnson, Haynes & Boone, LLP

Francés Jones, Law Firm of Francés Jones

Kim Kiplin, Dykema Gossett PLLC

Kathy Lake, Vinson & Elkins LLP

Daniella Landers, Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP

Jodi Lazar, Lazar Law

Rebecca Lightsey, Texas Appleseed

JoAnne McIntosh, Eccles & McIntosh, PC

Christine Montoya, State Farm Insurance Companies

Kelly Morgan, Fish & Richardson P.C.

Maggie Murphy, Jackson Lewis LLP

Susan Morrison, The Fowler Law Firm PC

Charlotte Noel, Jones Day

Lori O’Connell,  Freescale

Lisa Ann Paulson, Ratliff Law Firm, PLLC

Lisa Pennington, Baker & Hostetler LLP

Jaime Rose, Hohmann, Taube & Summers, L.L.P.

Jane Saginaw, Baron & Budd

Chris Schmitt, Vinson & Elkins LLP

Margaret Shannon

Julia Simon, Mary Kay, Inc.

Courtney Smith, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak, & Stewart, P.C.

Jennifer Smith, Baker Botts

Donna Snyder, AT&T Inc.

Leslie Thorne, Haynes and Boone, LLP

Angela Vogeli, TRS

Michelle Watson, State Farm Insurance Companies

David Weiser, Kator, Parks & Weiser, PLLC


Women@Weil - for web


B&B Group

 Shell Oil