Stuart Henry Environmental Law Summer Fellowship

The new Stuart Henry Environmental Law Fellowship provides funding for one student to work for a nonprofit legal organization protecting the Texas environment. In the summer of  2020, the program will provide the fellow with a $4,500 stipend to work for at least 10 weeks (and a minimum of 400 hours) under the supervision of an attorney at a qualified sponsoring organization. A sponsoring organization must be a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt nonprofit providing legal services and/or law-related advocacy on behalf of underrepresented individuals or communities working to preserve Texas’ natural resources and to protect the Texans who rely on those resources.

This new fellowship was created in honor of Stuart Henry, a renowned environmental attorney and activist in Austin for more than forty years. Mr. Henry passed away in October 2018, and some of his numerous admirers have made generous gifts to create this fellowship as part of Mr. Henry’s extensive legacy of environmental protection.

Applications for the fellowship will be reviewed and ranked initially by a panel of environmental attorneys familiar with Mr. Henry’s priorities who are recruited by the director of the Environmental Clinic at the Law School.  The panel’s rankings will be forwarded to a committee comprised of faculty members recruited by the Justice Center and familiar with Mr. Henry’s priorities, and the committee will select the recipient(s).

To learn more about Stuart Henry, please review this tribute by the Sierra Club.

For more information, please email:

Application Information

Application due: March 9, 2020

Applications for summer 2020 are due by noon on Monday March 9. The selection will be announced by Friday, March 27.

Apply using the online form for this fellowship. Given the shortage of resources, students who plan to split the summer between working for a sponsoring organization and working elsewhere for substantial compensation are discouraged from applying for these fellowships.

The fellow will be selected based on their credentials, their commitment to public service, the extent to which the proposed work fits within Mr. Henry’s priorities, and the sponsoring organization.  A student may not receive academic credit and a fellowship simultaneously, nor can a student receive a fellowship from both TLF and this program for the same position.  (This limitation does not preclude a fellow from receiving a living expense stipend or a stipend or scholarship for educational expenses.)

The fellow will be announced by the afternoon of Friday, March 27. The fellow is expected to sign a fellowship agreement, participate in an ethics training on a date TBD, and participate in a photo session before the end of the spring semester.

Questions should be directed to Kelly Haragan, director of the Environmental Clinic (, or to the William Wayne Justice Center for Public Interest Law (



Photo of Eric Newman
Eric Newman

Other opportunities: