Texas Law News

In Memoriam: Professor John A. Robertson

The Law School community is saddened by the sudden passing of Professor John A. Robertson, holder of the Vinson & Elkins Chair and a beloved member of our faculty for over thirty-five years.

Rabban Honored With Dual Fellowships

Texas Law Prof. David Rabban is wrapping up an extraordinary year in which he was honored with two of the most prestigious fellowships for academics and leading thinkers in the country.

Commencement 2017: Keynote Address of Justice Debra H. Lehrmann ’82

Texas Law’s annual graduation festivities, known as the Sunflower Ceremony, were held this past Saturday. The Law School graduated 312 J.D.s and 43 LL.M.s. The Hon. Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice of the Texas Supreme Court and a proud member of the Class of 1982 gave the keynote address.

Two Texas Law Alumni Among The Texas Exes 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award

Since 1958, the Texas Exes have honored those alumni who have distinguished themselves professionally and through service to the University of Texas. They have just announced the winners of the 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Awards, and the list includes two exceptional Texas Law alumni: John L. Adams '69 and Michael L. "Mickey" Klein '63. Both men are, in fact, double Longhorns, with Adams receiving his BBA in '66 and Klein a BS in '58.

Hansen: Renegotiating NAFTA is a Risk for Texans

Patricia I. Hansen, the J. Waddy Bullion Professor in Law and the Director of the dual degree program in Law and Latin American Studies, has written a thought-provoking op-ed on the subject of the North American Free Trade agreement.

Scott McCown: Texas must increase funding to fix Child Protective Services

Texas Law Prof. F. Scott McCown, a former judge and longtime advocate for children's rights, and the current Director of the Children's Rights Clinic at the law school, anticipates the need for state lawmakers to look more closely at CPS's budget in a powerful recent opinion piece for Dallas News.

More news