Skip to Main Content

Alumni Awards

The Law Alumni Association presents four awards annually, recognizing the outstanding achievements of Texas Law graduates. The awards committee from the Alumni Association Executive Committee selects the award recipients at its spring meeting, choosing from nominations submitted by our alumni community. Award presentations are made annually at a gala dinner in Austin.

2021 Alumni Award Honorees

The 2021 Alumni Awards Dinner will be April 28, 2022.

Headshot of David Beck ’65

Lifetime Achievement: DAVID BECK ’65

Recognizing a graduate who has had a distinguished career and has brought honor to The University Texas School of Law.

Headshot of Karen Seymour ’86

Outstanding Alumnus: KAREN SEYMOUR ’86

Honoring a graduate who has made outstanding contributions to his or her chosen profession and to society as a whole.

Headshot of F. Scott McCown ’79

Distinguished Alumnus for Community Service: THE HON. F. SCOTT McCOWN ’79

Honoring an outstanding graduate who has made exemplary contributions in public, pro bono and/or community service.

Outstanding Young Alumnus: CARLOS ZAFFIRINI, JR. ’06

This award recognizes a graduate who has made significant achievements professionally and in their service to the law school.

Memorial Tribute: JULIUS WHITTIER ’80

The late Julius Whittier was one of just 300 Black students on campus when he arrived in 1969. Beyond breaking racial barriers and accolades with the football team, he earned his B.A. in Philosophy in 1974, his Masters in Public Policy from the LBJ School in 1976, and completed his studies with the School of Law in 1980.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes an alumnus who has had a distinguished legal career.

2019  Julius Glickman ’66
2018  Richard Mithoff
2017  Frank Denius
2016  The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison
2015  John H. Massey
2014  Terry O. Tottenham
2013  The Honorable Robert M. Parker
2012  Daniel C. Arnold
2011  The Honorable Sam Sparks
2010  Mark L. Hart Jr.
2009  George C. Chapman
2008  Jonathan S. Day
2007  Rush H. Record
2006  W. Howard Wolf
2005  James B. Sales
2004  Bernard O. Dow
2003  E. William Barnett
2002  J. Mark McLaughlin
2001  The Honorable Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr.
2000  Charles Alan Wright
1999  The Honorable Barefoot Sanders
1998  Wales H. Madden Jr.
1997 The Honorable John L. Hill Jr.
1996  Elton M. Hyder
1995  Joyce Burg
1994  The Honorable Jerre S. Williams
1993  C. Chris Marshall
1992  George E. Seay

Outstanding Alumnus Award

The Outstanding Alumnus Award honors a graduate who has made outstanding contributions not only to the legal profession, but to society as a whole.

2019  Darren Walker ’86
2018  Sandra Phillips Rogers
2017  JoAnn Lee
2016  Patton G. Lochridge
2015  Mike McKool
2014  S. Jack Balagia Jr.
2013  Kathryn S. Fuller
2012  Gilbert I. “Buddy” Low
2011  Thomas M. Susman
2010  The Honorable Diane P. Wood
2009  The Honorable Royce C. Lamberth
2008  Linda L. Addison
2007  Jack Ratliff
2006  Ronald D. Krist
2005  The Honorable Wallace B. Jefferson
2004  The Honorable Edith H. Jones
2003  Shannon H. Ratliff
2002  The Honorable Thomas G. Loeffler
2001  Stephen D. Susman
2000  David J. Beck
1999  Larry E. Temple
1998  Harry M. Reasoner
1997  Morris Atlas
1996  Joseph D. Jamail
1995  The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison
1994  The Honorable Reynaldo G. Garza
1993  C. Kenneth Roberts
1992  The Honorable Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr.
1991  The Honorable Robert S. Strauss
1990  Dean John F. Sutton Jr.
1989  The Honorable James A. Baker III
1988  The Honorable Jack Pope
1987  The Honorable Edward Clark
1986  Wales H. Madden Jr.
1985  R. Preston Shirley
1984  T. J. Gibson
1983  Mark A. Martin
1982  William O. Huie
1982  M. Kenneth Woodward
1981  Benno C. Schmidt
1980  Kraft W. Eidman
1979  Helen Hargrave
1978  Albert P. Jones
1977  The Honorable Joe R. Greenhill
1976  Gus M. Hodges
1975  The Honorable Allan Shivers
1974  Dean W. Page Keeton
1973  Thomas M. Phillips
1972  The Honorable Robert W. Calvert
1971  A. W. Walker Jr.
1970  Tom Sealy
1969  J. Leroy Jeffers Sr.
1968  Charles W. Duke
1967  The Honorable W. St. John Garwood
1966  The Honorable Ireland Graves
1965  Elton M. Hyder Jr.
1964  The Honorable Tom C. Clark
1963  Rex G. Baker Jr.
1962  Francis G. Coates
1961  Hines H. Baker
1960  Sylvan S. Lang
1959  Dan Moody
1958  Charles I. Francis

Distinguished Alumnus Award for Community Service

Established by the Alumni Association in 1988, this award honors a graduate who brings conspicuous credit to the legal profession by exemplary service. The award recognizes superior educators, outstanding lawyers in government service, or those who have had a significant role as a community volunteer.

2019  Shawn Raymond ’99
2018  Carrin Patman
2017  Janiece Longoria
2016  The Honorable David Briones
2015  Regina Rogoff
2014  Nicole B. Cásarez
2013  Joe R. Long
2012  Nina Cortell
2011  Ann Barnett Stern
2010  Mike A. Myers
2009  Catherine Lamboley
2008  P. Michael McCullough
2007  Franci N. Crane
2006  The Honorable Preston M. Geren III
2005  Laura Beckworth
2004  The Honorable James DeAnda
2003  The Honorable Sam A. Lindsay
2002  Martha Smiley
2001  William H. White
2000  Scott Atlas
1999  Charles A. Saunders
1998  Ward R. Burke
1997  The Honorable Tom B. Ramey
1996  Neal S. Manne
1995  Harry M. Reasoner
1994  The Honorable Morris W. Hassell
1993  The Honorable William C. Bryson
1992  John W. Fainter
1991  The Honorable Royal Furgeson Jr.
1990  Harvey Weil
1989  Tom Unis
1988  The Honorable Ray Farabee

Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

The Outstanding Young Alumnus Award honors a graduate, 40 years old or younger, who has made significant achievements in his or her career and service to the University. Texas Law honored its first recipient of this award, John B. Connally IV, in Spring 2014.

2019  Amanda Tyler ’04
2018  The Honorable Oscar Longoria
2017 Daniel Hodge
2016  Scott A. Keller
2015  The Honorable George P. Bush
2014  John B. Connally IV

Mentor of the Year

The Mentor of the Year—selected by the dean from student nominations—honors an alumnus/alumna who have gone above and beyond to provide academic support, personal direction, and professional guidance to a Texas Law student

2021 Kerstin Arnold ’95
2020 Cynthia Akatugba ’13
2019  Ari Herbert ’17
2018  Karen Burgess ’86
2017 Judge Patrick Keel ’89
2016 Lisa Anderson ’88