Audre Rapoport

Audre Rapoport Prize for Scholarship on Gender and Human Rights

DEADLINE EXTENSION: Please submit papers by JULY 14, 2023

The Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice at the University of Texas School of Law extends a call for papers for the annual Audre Rapoport Prize for Scholarship on Gender and Human Rights.

This writing competition is made possible by a donation from University of Texas linguistics professor Robert King in honor of the work of Audre Rapoport (1923-2016), who advocated for women in the United States and internationally, particularly on issues of reproductive health.

View previous winners.


TOPIC: The scope of the topic is broad. We welcome papers, from any discipline, that address gender and human rights from an international, transnational, or comparative perspective.

PRIZE: The winning paper will receive $1,250 and will be published in the Center’s Working Paper Series. A second-place prize might also be awarded, with the paper considered for publication in the Working Paper Series.

ELIGIBILITY: The prize is open to students currently enrolled in graduate or professional programs as well as to those who have graduated from such programs in or after May 2021. Papers must consist of original work, primarily undertaken as a student, that has not been published or undergone professional editing at the time of submission. Authors must have rights to the content and be willing to publish the paper in the Rapoport Center’s Working Paper Series shortly after the winner has been announced. If papers are later published in a journal or other edited collection, they may be replaced in the Working Paper Series with a citation to that publication.

JUDGMENT CRITERIA: An interdisciplinary and international panel of scholars will judge the papers anonymously. Relevant judgment factors include the strength and logic of the thesis, depth of the analysis, originality and importance of intervention, thoroughness and soundness of the research, and quality of writing (clarity and organization).

FORMAT: Papers must be between 8,000 and 15,000 words, including notes, bibliographies, and appendices, and written in English. Text should be double-spaced, with 12-point font and 1-inch margins. Citation style should be disciplinarily appropriate. Via email, please submit, in three separate documents: (1) anonymized paper (without any identifying information), (2) abstract (100 to 250 words), and (3) full contact details (including university, degree, and anticipated/actual graduate date). Include “Audre Rapoport Prize 2023” in the subject line of the email. All submissions must be submitted in .doc or .docx format.

DEADLINE: Submissions should be sent via email to with the subject line “[Your Name] + Audre Rapoport Prize Submission 2023”. DEADLINE EXTENSION: Please submit papers by JULY 14, 2023

QUESTIONS? Please contact Cooper Christiancy.