Evan A Young

Evan A Young

  • Adjunct Professor

Faculty Profile: Evan A Young

Main Profile Content


Evan Young is an adjunct professor who has taught Federal Courts since 2015. Young is a graduate of the Yale Law School; Oxford University, where he was a British Marshall Scholar; and Duke University, where he was an A.B. Duke Memorial Scholar and a member of Phi Beta Kappa, and graduated summa cum laude.

After law school, Young became a law clerk to Justice Scalia on the Supreme Court and Judge Wilkinson on the Fourth Circuit. He was Counsel to the Attorney General at the U.S. Department of Justice from 2006 to 2008 under Attorneys General Gonzales and Mukasey, and he spent nearly a year on behalf of DOJ at the U.S. Embassy in Baghdad, Iraq, where he was the Deputy Rule of Law Coordinator. In that position he worked with leaders of the Iraqi justice system, and especially its courts, to assist in developing their institutional integrity.

Young is currently a partner at Baker Botts L.L.P.’s Austin office, where he is the litigation department chair. His practice focuses on trial and appellate litigation, and he has successfully argued before the Supreme Court of the United States, the Supreme Court of Texas, and lower courts. He is a frequent writer and lecturer at professional conferences and for legal publications.

Young is an elected member of the American Law Institute and was appointed by the Texas Supreme Court as a member of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee. Governor Abbott nominated him as a member of the Texas Judicial Council, and the Texas Senate confirmed that nomination in May 2017.  Young is the Chair of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children's Texas Regional Office. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Texas Judicial Foundation and Vice Chair of the Texas State Bar's Business Law Section.