A Guide to Anticipating Expenses
At Texas Law, we advocate for planning ahead and determining what expenses you can anticipate during your three years of law school. To get you started, we have provided a list of “usual and customary” student fees. We do not want you to overlook these expenses when creating your budget. Please note that fees quoted were the latest figures available at time of posting.
- Apartment Application Fees – $50
- Apartment Deposits – 1 bedroom, $175 to 1 mo. rent; 2 bedroom, $325 to 1 mo. rent
- Apartment Rent – Large studio, 1 bedroom – $975-$1,400; 2-bedroom, $800 per bedroom
Amount can vary based on credit score for properties outside of University area. Be aware that properties that are along Longhorn shuttle bus routes or located by campus also pre-lease. Some properties require a deposit equal to one month’s rent.
- Parent Co-signer Fee – $50 – $75
- Administrative Fee – fee charged to process paperwork ($100-$200 average)
- Pet Deposits – $350-500. Half is usually nonrefundable, non-aggressive breeds; 20lbs or less. Some properties in Hyde Park allow pets up to 60lbs.
1 Average amounts sourced from Apartment Finders (ausapt.com, 512-322-9556)
BevoPay is a prepaid, cashless form of payment that is accessible through your student ID card. Once your account is loaded, you can use BevoPay at participating merchants on or off campus. The website above has a list of participating merchants for your reference. All law students must use BevoPay for printing as they are required to print on campus from your own laptop. A common off-campus merchant that accepts BevoPay near the law school is Snarf’s Sandwiches.
Annual sales for garage ‘S’ permits begin in early August and will be posted on the website above after May 2021. If the garage you want is full, you can get on a waitlist and manage your garage choices, by accessing My Parking Profile.
- $739 in the San Jacinto Garage – SJG (S permit)
- $155/year for surface lot parking (C permit; spaces not guaranteed)
- $232 for C+ (surface lots + access to garages after 5 pm and on weekends; 2020-21 rates)
Please refer to the parking website link for updated prices.
Student Health Insurance²
Federal regulations allow an increase in the Cost-of-Attendance to cover student health insurance. If you purchase a plan that includes spouse and/or dependents coverage, the Cost-of-Attendance can only increase by the amount of the individual law student portion. Please contact the Law School Financial Office with any questions.
(Sept. 1 - Dec. 31)
(Jan. 1 - Aug. 31)
(June 1 - Aug. 31)
*2020-2021 Domestic medical coverage only; coverage provided by Academic Health Plans through BlueCross/BlueShield of Texas (utexas.myahpcare.com)
2 Due to the Affordable Care Act, federal options may be more cost-effective.
- Exam4 software – $30 annual fee
Enables you to take in-class exams on a laptop and submit the exam electronically
- Journal dues (dues vary depending on journal)
- $100 – one-time for Texas Law Review new members
- $60/year for Texas Journal of Oil, Gas, and Energy Law
- Locker rental
(combination lock keyed locker options; renter must provide combination lock); $60 key; $10 key deposit
- Copying & Printing to University printers
Must create a BevoPay account orUT Libraries Print account; 8.5” x 11” only
- $0.10/ page – black and white
- $0.40/ page – color
- $0.20/ page – black and white, double sided
- $0.80/page – color, double-sided
- Declaration of Intent to Study Law in Texas (must be made during 1L year)
- $150 if paid on or before timely filing deadline
- $300 if paid after timely filing deadline
- $40 – fingerprint fee
- Texas* Bar Exam Fee – ble.texas.gov/deadlines
*If you know you want to practice law in another jurisdiction, you should contact the Bar Association in that state for deadlines and fees associated with applying for and taking the exam.
- $350 for J.D. in Texas, including laptop fee to use your own laptop to take exam
- $1,140 for LL.M degree recipients
- Bar preparation course registration fee-$2,300 – $4,100 (estimate)
If you are planning on taking a commercial bar review course, consider signing up for the course during your first year and locking the price, particularly if you are concerned about potential price increases in the following years.
- Multistate Professional ResponsibilityExamination – MPRE fee (during 2L or 3L year)
- $135 fee
- Optional Membership fees
- $15/year – State Bar of Texas Association –Law Student Division (as of June 30, 2021)