Texas Law Faculty

Law School classrooms 2014. Law faculty member Mechele Dickerson's class and law students. (Photo by Marsha Miller)
27 members of the American Law Institute 6 Academy of Distinguished Teachers and Texas Law professors 58 Endowed Chairs or Professorships

About the Texas Law Faculty

The University of Texas School of Law has one of the most talented faculties in the nation. Legal legends such as W. Page Keeton, Charles Tilford McCormick, and Charles Alan Wright spent decades here. The tradition of excellence continues today with luminaries such as Mechele Dickerson (above), recently named to the University's Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Students at other schools learn from the books written by professors from whom our students learn in person every day.

There are 27 members of the American Law Institute on the faculty. Six of our law faculty have been elected to the University’s prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Texas Law professors have written prominent casebooks and treatises in use across the nation. Nearly 60 members of the faculty hold endowed chairs or professorships, and many faculty members have advanced degrees in fields related to their research, including economics, history and physics.

Faculty News

William Sage

William Sage on the ACA: Hearts, Minds and Health Care Reform

Professor William Sage penned a thoughtful—and deeply personal—essay about his reaction to the Supreme Court’s verdict in King v. Burwell, for the widely-read and widely-admired Health Affairs Blog. It was one of their most popular posts of the month.

Barbara Bintliff

Texas Law Welcomes the Uniform Law Commission Archives

One of the world’s most important legal archives now has a permanent home at one of the world’s premier law libraries. The archives of the Uniform Law Commission are now part of the permanent collection of Texas Law’s Tarlton Law Library, thanks to the library’s director, Professor Barbara Bintliff.

H.W. Perry News Article

H.W. Perry Honored with UT System Outstanding Teaching Award

Professor H.W. Perry is one of eleven faculty members from The University of Texas at Austin receiving a 2015 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. The awards program is one of the nation’s largest monetary teaching recognition programs, honoring outstanding performance in the classroom and dedication to innovation in undergraduate instruction.

More Faculty News