Make your Annual Gift now! Give to Texas Law

Owen L. Anderson

Owen L. Anderson

  • Lecturer

Faculty Profile: Owen L. Anderson

Main Profile Content


Professor Owen Anderson is a Professor and Distinguished Oil and Gas Scholar for the Kay Bailey Hutchison Center for Energy Law and Business at The University of Texas School of Law. He is also the Eugene Kuntz Chair in Oil, Gas & Natural Resources Emeritus and the George Lynn Cross Research Professor Emeritus at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Professor Anderson previously served as the Jack F. Maddox Professor of Law at Texas Tech University; as Distinguished Visitor and Chair of Natural Resources Law at the University of Calgary; and as Professor of Law at the University of North Dakota. He has also lectured on oil and gas law and international petroleum law and transactions on six continents. He is a Distinguished Lecturer for the Centre for Energy, Petroleum & Mineral Law & Policy at the University of Dundee in Scotland and regularly teaches at the University of Melbourne and the University of Sydney.

Professor Anderson is the co-author of Kuntz on Oil and Gas (Matthew Bender), International Petroleum Transactions (Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation), Cases and Material on Oil and Gas Law (West), A Student's Guide to Estates in Land and Future Interests (N. Carolina. Academic Press), and Volume 2 of Waters and Water Rights (Matthew Bender). He has written over 100 articles on oil and gas law. He serves on the Board of Editors for the Oil and Gas Reporter (Center for Ameirican and International Law) and Editor in Chief of the Texas Title Standards.

He is a member of the Oklahoma, Texas, and North Dakota Bars. He serves as a Commissioner for the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws; a member of the American Law Institute, as trustee of both the Eastern and Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundations; a member of the International Oil and Gas Educational Center Advisory Board of the Center for American and International Law in Dallas, Texas; and a member of the Association of International Petroleum Negotiators.

Courses for Spring 2017

View Course History