The 2020 Texas Bar Foundation Awards

Every year, the Texas Bar Foundation hosts a dinner reception to honor those in the legal field who personify the highest standards in the profession. This year, however, due to the unusual circumstances of the pandemic, the Foundation was unable to hold the usual celebratory event. The Foundation posted the award recipients on their website, along with descriptions of each award. Six Texas Law alumni were honored at this year’s Texas Bar Foundation Awards.

Outstanding 50 Year Lawyer Award

The Outstanding 50 Year Lawyer Award was the first award established by the Texas Bar Foundation in 1974. The award recognizes attorneys whose practice spanned fifty years or more, as of January 1st of the year of the award, and who adhere to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public.

Texas Law Recipients

John T. Montford ’68
Dudley Oldham ’66
The Honorable Lee Yeakel ’69

Lola Wright Foundation Award

Established in 1985 in honor of Coleman Gay, this award honors an attorney who exemplifies the highest standards of professional ethics. This award is presented in recognition for outstanding public service in advancing and enhancing legal ethics in Texas.

Texas Law Recipient

Kevin Dubose ’79

Ronald D. Secrest Outstanding Trial Lawyer Award

The firm of Beck Redden LLP established the award in honor and memory of Mr. Secrest, a gifted trial lawyer and a founding partner of the firm. The award recognizes a trial lawyer who, in his or her practice, has demonstrated high ethical and moral standards and has demonstrated exceptional professional conduct, thus enhancing the image of the trial lawyer.  In consideration of the award, Beck Redden LLP will make a gift to the Texas Bar Foundation of $10,000 annually in honor of the recipient.

Texas Law Recipient

Kenneth Tekell, Sr. ’63

Gregory S. Coleman Outstanding Appellate Lawyer Award

Yetter Coleman LLP established the Gregory S. Coleman Outstanding Appellate Lawyer in 2011 in honor and memory of Gregory S. Coleman. The award celebrates the high ideals and standards that Greg demonstrated in his appellate practice and personal life. The recipient should exhibit an outstanding appellate practice while maintaining a strong commitment to providing legal services for the underserved. Dedication to mentoring young attorneys should be evident as well as a strong moral compass to guide both professional and personal pursuits.

Texas Law Recipient

Reagan W. Simpson ’77