Alumni News

Students, Faculty, and Alumni Work Together on Supreme Court Capital-Punishment and Religious-Liberty Case

In a remarkable show of dedication to justice and legal dexterity, the Texas Law community swiftly came together this fall to support petitioner John Henry Ramirez before the United States Supreme Court. Background on Ramirez v. Collier: Petitioner John Henry Ramirez has been sentenced to death for a murder committed in Corpus Christi in 2004. […]

Read More
Jill Applegate ’21 Awarded Skadden Fellowship to Work with the Neighborhood Defender Service of Harlem

Jill Applegate ’21 has been awarded a 2022 Skadden Fellowship to work with the Neighborhood Defender Service of Harlem in New York. Her fellowship project will focus on providing direct representation for immigrants who have received deportation orders because of criminal convictions but who have the right to remain in the United States due to changes in […]

Read More
John Schwartz, JD ’84
Alumnus John Schwartz ’84 Returns to UT After a Storied Journalism Career

“One Degree. Many Paths.” These are the words inscribed on the entrance of the Texas Law Career Services Interview Suite. Though they were installed after John Schwartz ’84 graduated, he has lived their example. Armed with a Juris Doctor from Texas Law and a Bachelor of Arts from Plan II, Schwartz found his path as […]

Read More
Alcalde Documentary Highlights Rodriguez Family and the Annual Alumni Tailgate

After a one-year pandemic break, Texas Law’s 22nd Annual Alumni Tailgate Extravaganza brought our community together again on campus, and The Alcalde documentary crew was there to capture this special moment. Eduardo Rodriguez ’68 and his family, including his son Michael Rodriguez ’94, have been uniting the Texas Law community at this tailgate for over two […]

Read More
Austin Black Business Journal announced its Most Influential & Up & Coming Lawyer Award Honorees
Texas Law Alumni Honored with Austin Black Business Journal’s Most Influential and Up & Coming Lawyer Awards

Several Texas Law alumni—three of whom are also faculty—are being honored with the 2021 Most Influential and Up & Coming Lawyer awards by the Austin Black Business Journal. The annual awards recognize Black professionals in the legal field who have achieved professional excellence and have actively paved the way to success for others. “These individuals […]

Read More
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month and Our Extraordinary Alumni

We are proud to celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month by highlighting extraordinary lawyers and leaders of Hispanic heritage who got their start at Texas Law. Though we aren’t able to feature all of the thousands of lawyers of Hispanic heritage who make the Texas Law community stronger, scroll down to meet some of our outstanding […]

Read More