Law School News

Andy Martinez
Andy Martinez Honored with the University’s Outstanding Staff Award

Texas Law Media Services Manager Andy Martinez was honored with a 2023 University of Texas at Austin Outstanding Staff Award by University President Jay Hartzell. The Outstanding Staff Awards Program honors and recognizes non-teaching employees whose outstanding dedication, competence, conscientious performance, excellent customer service, and ingenuity/innovation has contributed to the continuing success of the university. […]

Read More
Reid Coleman ’21
Reid Coleman ’21 to Clerk for Justice Clarence Thomas

When clerkship positions started filling up for the U.S. Supreme Court’s 2023-24 term, few were surprised to see that Texas Law alumnus Reid Coleman had earned one of the coveted spots. Coleman – who attended Texas Law as a Massey Scholar, was the Grand Chancellor for the Class of 2021, and had spent a year […]

Read More
What a Great Year at Texas Law – A Message from Dean Bobby Chesney

Dear friends, It’s been an incredible year at Texas Law, culminating in the graduation this month of the Class of 2023. Please read on for a snapshot of the highlights as we continue on the road to becoming the very best public law school in the nation! Hook ’em! Bobby Chesney Dean It was a […]

Read More
Celebrating Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) Heritage Month is celebrated each May, focusing on the historical and cultural contributions of those with Asian and Pacific Islander roots. The AAPI descriptor encompasses millions of people of various cultures who represent many ethnicities, languages and experiences that enrich our nation. For current Texas Law students, the student-led […]

Read More
Texas Law Graduates Receive Prestigious Public Service Fellowships

Eight graduates from the Class of 2023, along with a graduate from the Class of 2022, have received national postgraduate fellowships to work for the public good. “These competitive national postgraduate fellowships honor our Texas Law graduates starting their public interest legal careers,” said Mary Murphy, public interest career counselor with the Career Services Office. […]

Read More
Three Members of the Class of 2023 Receive Texas Law Postgraduate Fellowships

Texas Law has awarded postgraduate public interest fellowships to three members of the class of 2023. Each fellow will receive funding through the Law School to support their first year of employment at a nonprofit organization. “The Law School is proud to support these impressive students as they begin their careers serving the public,” said […]

Read More
Portrait of Circle Robie
Texas Law Student Receives National Susman Godfrey Prize

Rising 2L Circle Robie has won a prestigious Susman Godfrey Prize. The honor, presented to only 12 law students annually, was announced this week by Susman Godfrey’s co-managing partners Kalpana Srinivasan and Vineet Bhatia. “We are thrilled to recognize a group of incredibly talented and inspiring law students,” said Srinivasan. “And we hope this can […]

Read More
Sunflower Ceremony Celebrates J.D. and LL.M. Classes of 2023

On a day when thunderstorms threatened but never materialized, the mood was sunny and joyful inside UT Austin’s Gregory Gym as Texas Law celebrated the J.D. and LL.M. Classes of 2023 on Saturday, May 6. The school’s annual Sunflower Ceremony, continuing a tradition that dates back the beginning of the 20th century, brought together 292 […]

Read More