Texas Law Faculty Among 2021’s Most-Cited in the Country

Texas Law is home to world-class faculty, and reports continue to prove that to be true. Many in the legal academy pay careful attention to University of Chicago Prof. Brian Leiter’s annual lists of “most-cited” law faculty on his website, Brian Leiter’s Law School Reports. Leiter (a former Texas Law professor) has developed a methodology based on data from Professor Gregory Sisk & colleagues’ scholarly impact ratings, looking at mean and median citations to tenured faculty scholarship for the years 2016-2020.

As an institution, Texas Law was on the website’s top law schools based on scholarly impact, along with the school’s “most-cited” faculty based on Leiter’s methodology. The professors listed (alphabetically) as the top most-cited are:

  • Robert Bone
  • Robert Chesney
  • William Forbath
  • John Golden
  • Sanford Levinson
  • Thomas McGarity
  • Lawrence Sager
  • David Spence
  • Stephen Vladeck
  • Wendy Wagner

The Texas Law most-cited scholars by specialty (to date) are well represented on Leiter’s lists:

  • Linda Mullenix (Civil Procedure)
  • Sanford Levinson (Constitutional Law)
  • John Golden (Intellectual Property)
  • Robert Bone (Works partly in Intellectual Property)
  • Robert Chesney (International Law and Security)
  • Stephen Vladeck (Works partly in International Law and Security)
  • William Forbath (Legal History)
  • Thomas McGarity (Public Law)

Read more in this Sept. 28 post: Links to all the 2021 Scholarly Impact ranking posts *so far* (for citations during 2016-2020)

Category: Faculty News, Law School News