Category: Faculty News

  • Philosophical Society portraits
    Five outstanding members of the Texas Law community have been elected to the prestigious Philosophical Society of Texas. The group, led by Dean Bobby Chesney, includes alumni Linda Addison ’76, John B. Beckworth ’83, and John Schwartz ’83, and adjunct professor Evan Young. They are in elite company, as the Philosophical Society elected only 17 […]
  • ABBJ
    Several Texas Law faculty members and alumni have been chosen to receive 2022 Austin Black Business Journal awards. The publication announced two major awards honoring attorneys: “Most Influential Lawyers” and “Up & Coming Lawyers.” The awards recognize Black professionals in the legal field who have achieved professional excellence and have actively paved the way to […]
  • Shavonne Henderson
    Texas Law Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Shavonne Henderson ’05 has been selected as a 2022 recipient of the Texas Diversity Council‘s Top Women Lawyer Award. The award recognizes Henderson as a leader in the legal profession who shows commitment to diversity and community well-being. “I am honored and grateful that organizations […]
  • Professor Maria Ponomarenko
    Texas Law welcomes to its faculty Maria Ponomarenko, whose expertise as a teacher and writer covers the areas of administrative law, local government law, constitutional law, and criminal procedure. A particular area of focus of her work is on government agencies that fall beyond the reach of traditional administrative law and scholarship, such as policing […]
  • PORTRAITS OF two new professors
    The University of Texas School of Law is delighted to announce two new faculty members: Tara Leigh Grove, who will serve as the Vinson & Elkins Chair in Law, and Lia Sifuentes Davis, the interim director and visiting clinical professor for Texas Law’s Civil Rights Clinic. Tara Leigh Grove As the Vinson & Elkins Chair […]
  • Discussion of Dobbs Decision, on July 1
    On Friday, July 1 at 11:30am CST, The University of Texas School of Law is co-hosting a webinar to discuss the historic Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization decision and its implications for our country. The discussion will be moderated by Steve Vladeck of The University of Texas School of Law. Panelists of the webinar […]
  • Portrait of Ed Sherman
    Edward (Ed) Sherman, a long-time faculty member at Texas Law, passed away on June 7, 2022, at the age of 84. A veteran of the U.S. Army, Sherman joined the faculty here in 1977 and spent nearly two decades positively impacting law students, including his commitment that they received quality instruction in the area of […]
  • Headshots of speakers at LevinsonFest6.21.22
    In honor of Prof. Sanford (Sandy) Levinson’s 40th year at Texas Law, the school’s Program on Constitutional Studies is hosting “LevinsonFest 2022” – an online celebration of his scholarship. As the founding director of constitutional Studies at Texas Law, Levinson has organized innovative scholarly programs, created new platforms to disseminate the ideas of faculty and […]
  • Erik Encarnacion
    Texas Law Assistant Professor Erik Encarnacion has been selected to present his paper “Making Whole by Making Better” at the prestigious Harvard/Yale/Stanford Junior Faculty Forum held at Harvard Law School on June 10, 2022. No more than 20 junior scholars – with one to seven years of teaching experience – are chosen through a competitive double-blind […]
  • Texas Law has announced that four current faculty members—Susan Morse, Melissa Wasserman, Shavonne Henderson, and Eden Harrington— have agreed to serve the law school community as Associate Deans, effective July 1. Collectively, this group will form the dean’s senior leadership team, advising the dean while also carrying out the charges described below. “We are all […]
  • Barbara Bintliff headshot
    Barbara Bintliff, the Joseph C. Hutcheson Professor Emeritus in Law and former director of the Tarlton Law Library/Jamail Center for Legal Research, has been selected to receive the 2022 Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award by the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL). Bintliff retired in January 2022 after more than a decade with Texas […]
  • Bobby Chesney headshot
    The University of Texas at Austin has selected Robert (Bobby) Chesney to serve as the next dean of the School of Law. Chesney, who currently holds the James A. Baker III Chair in the Rule of Law and World Affairs and has served as the school’s associate dean for academic affairs for more than a […]