“The Future of Equality” conference to explore how Americans should interpret the U.S. Constitution in the future, April 1–2, 2011

The University of Texas School of Law, in association with the American Constitutional Society and the Open Society Institute, will host a conference,“The Future of Equality,” in the Law School’s Jeffers Courtroom (TNH 3.140) on April 1–2, 2011.

The event, which is free and open to the public, is part of the Constitution in 2020 project, a series of publications, conferences, lectures, and academic events exploring how Americans should interpret their constitution in the future.  

“The conference is bringing together some leading contemporary writers on equality, including important young scholars,” said Sanford Levinson, a constitutional law professor and an organizer of the conference along with Yale law professors Jack M. Balkin and Reva Siegel.  

“Each of the panels will in effect be an ‘author meets critics’ roundtable discussing the work of these scholars, and although the principal focus is the United States Constitution, one of the most interesting sessions will surely be the opening panel, on Friday morning, discussing the role of equality in many state constitutions,” Levinson said.

Other University of Texas law professors participating in the conference include Dean Larry Sager, William Forbath, Angela Littwin, Justin Driver, Joseph Fishkin, and Cary Franklin.

For more information on speakers and the schedule visit the conference website.

Contact: Laura Castro, UT Law Communictions, 512-232-1229, lcastro@law.utexas.edu.

Category: Events
Tags: , , ,