Student Bar Association announces recipients of 2011–2012 Teacher and Administrator of the Year Awards

The Student Bar Association announced the recipients of the 2011–2012 Teacher and Administrator of the Year Awards at a ceremony at the Law School on April 23, 2012. These awards, determined entirely from student votes, honor distinguished faculty and staff members for their significant contributions to the Law School community. The recipients are:

Tenured Professor of the Year: Stanley M. Johanson, James A. Elkins Centennial Chair in Law and University Distinguished Teaching Professor
Distinguished Lecturer of the Year: David S. Sokolow, Distinguished Senior Lecturer and Director of Student Life
Legal Writing Professor of the Year: Wayne Schiess, Senior Lecturer
Clinical Faculty Member of the Year: Tina V. Fernandez, Lecturer and Director of the Pro Bono Program
Administrator of the Year: Reymundo Ramos, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Administrator of the Year: Brandi Welch, Director of Student Services

The recipients were presented with their awards in the Law School’s Sheffield Room as part of an ice cream social the William Wayne Justice Center convened to celebrate public service and to recognize student accomplishments in that area.

The awards are presented every year from the Student Bar Association,” said Haley Bergman, vice president of operations for the Student Bar Association. “Recipients are chosen only from student votes, and this year roughly four hundred students voted through our online survey. Our goal this year was to increase the visibility and prominence of the awards from past years. Because these are the only awards based entirely on student input, we hope that they hold a special meaning for the recipients. Dean Chesney and Dean Lindquist have been instrumental in raising the bar for the visibility of these awards and the Student Bar Association is grateful for all of their assistance throughout this process.”

Category: Student Life