Dale Whitaker

Shavonne Henderson
Associate Dean Shavonne Henderson Recognized as Diversity Leader

Texas Law Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Shavonne Henderson ’05 has been selected as a 2022 recipient of the Texas Diversity Council‘s Top Women Lawyer Award. The award recognizes Henderson as a leader in the legal profession who shows commitment to diversity and community well-being. “I am honored and grateful that organizations […]

Read More
Public interest fellowship recipientsc interest
Summer Public Service Program Makes Big Impact

Texas Law has long supported students who choose public service or other careers advancing the public interest. This summer, 167 students benefitted from Texas Law’s newly formed Summer Public Service Program (SPSP) which guaranteed them stipends to work in government and nonprofit summer fellowships. In total, 150 students received a general Summer Public Service Fellowship […]

Read More
Meet the Texas Law Class of 2025

The Texas Law Class of 2025 begins an exciting three-year journey that will develop them as future leaders in the legal profession. This impressive group of nearly 300 students brings a wide range of academic backgrounds, work experience, community service, and life experience to the Forty Acres. This year’s 1Ls represent 32 states and eight […]

Read More
group of law students
Student Organizations Strive to Help Incoming Class Thrive in Law School

When Texas Law welcomed incoming students during the Class of 2025’s Orientation week, several student organizations teamed up to make sure that everyone felt supported and welcome. They hosted “Thriving in Law School” programming throughout the week that helped to lay the groundwork for success for incoming students who may come from backgrounds that historically […]

Read More
Dobkin and Gunturu headshots
Texas Law Students Complete Summer Fellowships with National Workers’ Rights Program

Texas Law students Zoe Dobkin ’24 and Apurva Gunturu ’25 earned prestigious positions through the highly competitive Peggy Browning Fellowhip Program this summer. They were two of just 100 law students from around the country recognized for their interest in, and commitment to, workers’ rights. Dobkin, working with the Sugar Law Center for Economic and […]

Read More
Mike Perrin headshot
Mike Perrin ’71 Honored With Texas Exes Distinguished Alumnus Award

Michael W. “Mike” Perrin ’71 has been selected to receive the 2022 Texas Exes Distinguished Alumnus Award, continuing a long tradition of representation from Texas Law alumni.  The Distinguished Alumnus Award—the highest recognition bestowed by the university’s alumni association—was created in 1958 to honor alumni who have distinguished themselves in their profession, community, and through […]

Read More
Professor Maria Ponomarenko
Welcome Professor Maria Ponomarenko

Texas Law welcomes to its faculty Maria Ponomarenko, whose expertise as a teacher and writer covers the areas of administrative law, local government law, constitutional law, and criminal procedure. A particular area of focus of her work is on government agencies that fall beyond the reach of traditional administrative law and scholarship, such as policing […]

Read More
Kensey and Onyedira headshots
Two Texas Law Students Win National Susman Godfrey Prize

Texas Law students Diana Kensy (3L) and Jason Onyediri (3L) have been selected as Susman Godfrey Prize winners, which are presented annually to 12 law school students of color from around the country who have demonstrated academic excellence and overall achievement. The award is open to students who are finishing their first or second year […]

Read More