Texas Law Review symposium on modern capital markets and corporations, February 24–25, 2012

The Texas Law Review is holding a symposium entitled “Reshaping Capital Markets and Institutions: Twenty Years On” at the University of Texas School of Law on Friday, February 24, and Saturday, February 25, 2012. The event will bring together an exceptional lineup of legal and finance academics, practitioners, and regulators. 

Organized in partnership with Professor Henry T.C. Hu, the symposium is focused on the landscape of modern capital markets and corporations. Envisioned as a follow-up to the Texas Law Review’s groundbreaking 1991 symposium issue on financial innovation, also in partnership with Professor Hu, this event will center on the presentation of papers followed by comments on the papers and discussion. In addition, there will be panels on Dodd-Frank and derivatives and systemic risk, as well as corporate and securities issues. The symposium is free and open to the public but prior registration (as described below) is recommended.

The presenting authors will be:

  • Viral Acharya, C.V. Starr Professor of Economics at the NYU Stern School of Business
  • David M. Becker, partner at Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP and former SEC general counsel and senior policy director
  • H. Rodgin Cohen, partner and senior chairman at Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
  • James D. Cox, Brainerd Currie Professor of Law at Duke University School of Law
  • James R. Doty, chairman of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) and former SEC general counsel
  • Henry T.C. Hu, Allan Shivers Professor in the Law of Banking and Finance at the University of Texas School of Law and inaugural director of the SEC’s Division of Risk, Strategy, and Financial Innovation (2009–2011)
  • Andrew Lo, Harris & Harris Group Professor of Finance at the MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Joseph McCahery, professor of international economic law and professor of financial market regulation at Tilburg University (Netherlands)

Commentators on the papers and panelists will include:

  • Ronald Gilson, professor, Stanford Law School
  • Jeffrey Gordon, professor, Columbia Law School
  • Joseph Grundfest, professor, Stanford Law School
  • The Honorable Patrick Higginbotham, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
  • Howell Jackson, professor, Harvard Law School
  • Randall Thomas, professor, Vanderbilt University Law School
  • Jay Westbrook, professor, University of Texas School of Law
  • Ann Yerger, executive director, Council of Institutional Investors

Download the agenda here and visit the symposium website for full details.

Please contact admin@texaslrev.com by February 15, 2012, if you seek to attend. Attending attorneys will be eligible to receive up to 9.5 hours of Texas CLE credit. Due to space constraints, applying early is recommended. There is a possibility that the event may be full prior to the February 15 registration deadline.

Texas Law Review contact: Tania Culbertson, administrative editor, Texas Law Review, admin@texaslrev.com.

Category: Events
Tags: , , , , , , ,