Christopher Roberts

Prof. Hans Baade
In Memoriam: Prof. Hans Baade

The School of Law reports with sadness the passing of Hans Wolfgang Baade, an emeritus member of the faculty and holder of the Hugh Lamar Stone Chair in Civil Law. Professor Baade was born in Berlin in 1929, and was raised in Germany and in Turkey.  He received his A.B. from Syracuse University, a doctorate […]

Read More
Changing the way courses on Property are taught

Texas Law faculty members Heather Way and Lucy Wood are writing a book that shows how the concepts in first-year Property courses work in practice. Real Property for the Real World: Building Skills Through Case Study, is forthcoming from West Publishing Company.  Tanya Marsh at Wake Forest University is a co-author as well. The book […]

Read More
Does Race Influence Tort Damages?

Most lawyers would say the Constitution forbids the government to discriminate on the basis of race, but Professor Ronen Avraham believes it still happens routinely in the courtroom. Prof. Avraham, the Thomas Shelton Maxey Professor at the School of Law, studies the damages that courts award in personal-injury cases and in other settings, and he believes […]

Read More
Prof. Loftus C. Carson II
In Memoriam: Prof. Loftus C. Carson II

The Law School community is greatly saddened by the passing of The Ronald D. Krist Professor in Law, Loftus C. Carson II (1946-2016). Prof. Carson served on the Texas Law faculty for more than 20 years, teaching corporations, securities regulation, nonprofit organizations, higher education and the law, and employment law.  In 2002, he received the Student Bar Association […]

Read More
Alumni Association Names 2016 Alumni Award Recipients

Six of Texas Law’s most accomplished, illustrious alumni are being honored this September by the Texas Law Alumni Association and Dean Ward Farnsworth. Former United States Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison ’67 will receive the Association’s Award for Lifetime Achievement. Austin attorney Patton G. Lochridge ’76 will be honored as Outstanding Alumnus. Senior U.S. District Court Judge […]

Read More
Rapoport Center Receives Award for Sissy Farenthold Online Exhibition

Texas Law’s Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice has won an Exceptional Merit in Media Award (EMMA) from the National Women’s Political Caucus (NWPC) for its online exhibition Frances Tarlton “Sissy” Farenthold: A Noble Citizen. The interactive, multimedia website chronicles the life and work of Sissy Farenthold (Texas Law ’49), a trailblazing reformer, […]

Read More
Immigration Clinic Plays Key Role at Detention Centers

Sunday’s Austin American-Statesman profiles the work of Texas Law’s Immigration Clinic and its leaders: clinic founder Barbara Hines, who retired as clinic director last year but still maintains a role; and, Professor Denise Gilman, who served with Hines for seven years before following in her footsteps in the director’s role. The ongoing plight of women and […]

Read More