Author: Reagan Robinson

  • Emma Edmund '24
    For this edition of Texas Law’s Student Spotlight series, meet 1L Emma Edmund! Q: How did your time as Editor In Chief of The Daily Northwestern help prepare or inspire you for law school? My time as editor of The Daily helped me develop and refine my writing skills, which I think is critical to […]
  • Texas Law alumna Alejandra “Ale” Ávila ’14
    Ávila is one of just 39 Texas Law graduates* (since 1938) to clerk on the Supreme Court.
  • Texas Law’s Program on Constitutional Studies is pleased to welcome its inaugural, international class of Senior Research Fellows in Constitutional Studies. Each has been selected for their impactful and innovative ideas and advocacy in constitutional studies. The 2022 Fellows are Julie Suk from Fordham University (USA), Cynthia Barrow-Giles from The University of the West Indies […]
  • A new report from The Entrepreneurship and Community Development Clinic reveals that San Antonio vacates and demolishes occupied homes at an exponentially higher rate than the other major Texas cities combined. Professor Heather Way, the co-director of The Entrepreneurship and Community Development Clinic, is the study’s lead author. The report, titled “Ousted: The City of […]
  • S. Anthony Safi Headshot
    S. Anthony Safi ’76 has been recognized with the Kelly Frels Lifetime Achievement Award from the School Law Section of the State Bar of Texas. The Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for an attorney who has made “outstanding contributions” to school law jurisprudence on the state and/or federal level, has been a recognized leader in […]
  • Headshot of Angela F. Williams
    Angela F. Williams ’88 will become the next president and CEO of the United Way Worldwide. Williams will be the first woman and first African American to lead the organization. Her appointment takes effect on October 15, 2021. “We are always proud of our alumni who show up and do the work of changing the […]
  • President Bill Powers smiling and opening a file in his office.
    The Tarlton Law Library has announced the publication of the oral history interview of William C. Powers, Jr., one of the most important figures in the history of the School of Law and of The University of Texas. William C. Powers, Jr. (1946-2019) was the Joseph D. Jamail Centennial Chair in Law at The University […]
  • With generous donations from Texas Law alumni Doug Bech and Sam Loughlin, The University of Texas School of Law opened the Bech-Loughlin First Amendment Center in the Fall of 2020. The First Amendment Center serves to advance dialogue and scholarship about the First Amendment and foster appreciation of its place in our legal system. Professor Steven T. […]
  • Meet the Class of 2024!
    Texas Law welcomes the Class of 2024 as its newest cohort of future leaders in law, business, and public service! This group of resilient students, bringing together a wide range of ages, backgrounds, and interests, is ready to make their mark on the world. For the first time in Texas Law history, there are more […]
  • San Antonio Bar Association
    Texas Law alumni Dave Evans ’01, Lorraine Efron ’88, Grant McFarland ’91, and Jaime Vasquez ’08 have been elected to the 2021-2022 Board of Directors for the San Antonio Bar Association (SABA). Pictured above, from left: Dave Evans, Grant McFarland, Jaime Vasquez, Lorraine Efron The association is San Antonio’s largest voluntary bar organization of attorneys and […]
  • Headshot of Betty Balli Torres, wearing a bright blue jacket
    Betty Balli Torres ’85, executive director of the Texas Access to Justice Foundation (TAJF), won a national award from the National Legal Aid & Defender Association (NLADA) for her work in ensuring access to justice for Texans in creative and innovative ways. Torres was presented with the NLADA’s 2021 Innovations in Equal Justice Award for […]
  • Headshot of Neal S. Manne ’80
    The American Bar Association’s Litigation Section honored Neal Manne ’80 with its John Minor Wisdom Public Service and Professionalism Award on May 7 at the organization’s national meeting. The ABA’s award recognizes Manne for his decades of pro bono work on cases seeking equal justice under the law. The award is named for Judge Wisdom, […]