Robyn Lindenberg

Archival image of Reynaldo Garza
The Honorable Reynaldo Guerra Garza ’39

It’s National Hispanic Heritage Month through October 15, when Americans honor the cultures and contributions of both Hispanic and Latino Americans and the heritage rooted in all Latin American countries. Although we aren’t able to single out every one of the thousands of outstanding lawyers and leaders of Hispanic heritage who got their start at […]

Read More
Portrait of Prof. Steve Collis
Getting to Know Prof. Steve Collis

New clinical professor Steve Collis joins the Texas Law faculty as the founding director of the Bech-Loughlin First Amendment Center and the school’s new Law and Religion Clinic. His expertise on religion and the law has made him a sought-after speaker for both academic and lay audiences all across the United States, including diplomats from […]

Read More
Prof. Richard Albert speaking into a microphone while standing in front of a wooden podium
Prof. Richard Albert: “It’s Time to Update the Language of the Constitution”

Professor Richard Albert has a new op-ed in The Hill arguing that the Constitution’s gendered and racist language “weakens rather than enhances the feeling of belonging that a constitution should generate among a country’s citizens.” Prof. Albert, the William Stamps Farish Professor in Law, is an expert in comparative constitutional studies and writes extensively about […]

Read More
Darren Walker, wearing a blue suit, standing on a balcony in New York City
“Are You Willing to Give Up Your Privilege?” Asks Darren Walker ’86 in the New York Times Opinion

Ford Foundation President Darren Walker ’86—a double Longhorn, a two-time Law Alumni Award winner, and a Texas Exes Distinguished Alumnus Awardee—has a new New York Times op-ed arguing that, to preserve the American dream of upward mobility, the beneficiaries of an existentially flawed system must be willing to give up some of the benefits it […]

Read More
A large metal sign explaining Juneteenth's history in front of trees.
Resources to Learn About Juneteenth

We are wishing all a meaningful and happy Juneteenth. In that spirit, we are sharing a message sent out last night to the Texas Law community with links and resources for the Juneteenth holiday. It came from Professor Barbara Bintliff, Joseph C. Hutcheson Professor in Law and Director of the Tarlton Law Library and Jamail Center […]

Read More
Texas Law logo, with an orange background and white letters.
Message from the Dean to Alumni

Dean Ward Farnsworth sent the message below to alumni on June 8, 2020. Dear alumni, This is a challenging time for our country, our state, and our school.  First, of course, it is a time of intense social and political turmoil and soul-searching.  Last Monday, President Hartzell sent this note to the University community.  I followed it with a message to […]

Read More
Darren Walker ’86 on How Philanthropy Can Help Achieve Racial Justice

Darren Walker ’86, President of the Ford Foundation, participated in Thursday’s Time 100 Talks addressing philanthropy’s role in the movement for racial justice. Walker is a Texas Exes Distinguished Alumnus Awardee, the highest honor given by his alma mater, The University of Texas at Austin, and winner of the 2019 Texas Law Outstanding Alumni Award.  […]

Read More
Three photos in wall plaque honoring Virgil C. Lott '53
One of East Austin’s Most Legendary Families

Many in the Texas Law community are familiar with Virgil C. Lott’s story. In 1953, Lott became the first African American to graduate from The University of Texas Law School and was the first African American to sit on the bench of an Austin court. Today the law school honors Lott’s achievements and memory by […]

Read More
Graphic with three women fists on the right and the phrase "To the firsts, the nows, and the nexts..." written in dark blue cursive on the top left, and a Texas Law logo on the bottom.
Women’s History at Texas Law 2020

As this year’s Women’s History Month comes to an end, we reflect on the remarkable women who shaped and continue to shape Texas Law. Check out this presentation to learn about and celebrate just a few of our many accomplished alumnae and students who continue to raise the bar for excellence in the legal world […]

Read More