Alumni Focus

Professor Nelia Robbi, holding an award
Prof. Nelia Robbi Honored at the Austin Bar Foundation Gala

Texas Law Professor Nelia Robbi ’07 has been honored with the 2020 Joseph C. Parker Diversity Award. Prof. Robbi was presented with the award at the Austin Bar Foundation annual gala ceremony on January 25 at the Omni Hotel at Barton Creek Resort. “We are so thrilled to see Nelia honored for her commitment to equality […]

Read More
Portrait of Arleas Upton Kea, wearing a bright coral jacket and pearl necklaces.
Upton Kea ’82: “It’s a Lonely Walk to the Top”

Arleas Upton Kea ’82, the Chief Operating Officer of the FDIC in Washington, D.C., and the Immediate Past President of the Law Alumni Association, has just authored a powerful essay for American Banker magazine’s online platform. The piece, titled “It’s a ‘lonely walk’ to the top at FDIC for a woman of color,” looks at Upton […]

Read More
All the 2019 Alumni Award Winners, standing with their hands up in the
Law School Celebrates 2019 Alumni Award Winners

The Law Alumni Association presented its annual awards at a gala ceremony on October 4 at the Four Seasons Hotel in downtown Austin, recognizing Julius Glickman ’66 for Lifetime Achievement, Darren Walker ’86 as the Outstanding Alumnus, and Shawn Raymond ’99 as the Distinguished Alumnus for Community Service. In addition, Amanda Tyler ’04 was honored […]

Read More
Alumni Association Announces 2019 Alumni Award Honorees

Five of Texas Law’s most accomplished and remarkable alumni are being honored this year by the School of Law Alumni Association and Dean Ward Farnsworth. The awards were announced by Alumni Association President Arleas Upton Kea ’82. “The Alumni Awards honor the ‘best of the best’ in our large and highly accomplished alumni community. These […]

Read More
Prof David Anderson
Professor David Anderson ’72 Receives Celebratory Resolution

On February 26, beloved Prof. David Anderson ’72 was honored with a celebratory resolution in the Texas House of Representatives, marking his retirement from the faculty of The University of Texas School of Law. The resolution was introduced by his former student, the Hon. Oscar Longoria ’07, Representative for Texas’ District 35. “For many years […]

Read More
Dr. Melynda Price ’02 Named Gaines Center Director

Congratulations are due to Dr. Melynda Price ’02 on her historic appointment to the directorship of the John R. Gaines Center for the Humanities at the University of Kentucky. Dr. Price becomes the first woman and the first African American to lead the center. In addition to her J.D. from Texas Law, the ninth-generation Houstonian […]

Read More
Mike A. Myers ’63 to Receive Santa Rita Award

Double Longhorn and School of Law alumnus Mike A. Myers ’63 has been announced as the newest recipient of the Santa Rita Award. It is the highest honor that can be bestowed by the University of Texas System. Myers will receive the award at a dinner in his honor in Dallas on December 12. This award […]

Read More