Year: 2017

  • Texas Law tends to be as quiet as a library during the summer, while students and faculty alike travel the country for work, research and relaxation. This Thursday, though, that library quiet will be broken—by a group of librarians, no less! The American Association of Law Libraries is descending upon Austin, and the Tarlton Law […]
  • The Law School community is saddened by the sudden passing of Professor John A. Robertson, holder of the Vinson & Elkins Chair and a beloved member of our faculty for over thirty-five years. Professor Robertson, a renowned bioethics scholar, was honored in 2010 with a lifetime achievement award from the American Society for Law, Medicine […]
  • Is the Price Right? An Empirical Study of Fee-Setting in Securities Class Actions, an article by Professors Lynn Baker and Charles Silver, and co-author Michael Perino, of St. John’s University School of Law, was named one of the ten best articles on corporate and securities law in 2016 by the Corporate Practice Commentator.  The article, which appeared […]
  • Jordan Steiker, the Judge Robert M. Parker Endowed Chair in Law and Director of the Capital Punishment Center at Texas Law, along with his sister Carol Steiker, the Henry J. Friendly Professor of Law and Faculty Co-Director of the Criminal Justice Policy Program at Harvard Law School, were asked by SCOTUSblog to analyze the decisions of […]
  • James Aycock, a shareholder with the San Antonio firm Langley & Banack, Inc.,  received the Distinguished Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award from the Real Estate, Probate and Trust Law Section of the State Bar of Texas ( The honor was presented to Aycock at the Advanced Estate Planning & Probate course in Houston on June […]
  • Texas Law Prof. David Rabban is wrapping up an extraordinary year in which he was honored with two of the most prestigious fellowships for academics and leading thinkers in the country. Rabban, the Jamail Regents Chair at the School of Law, is the recipient of both a Guggenheim Fellowship, and of a fellowship from the […]
  • The current issue of the Federal Bar Association’s Admiralty Law eNewsletter — Admiralitas — turns its “Member Spotlight” on Texas Law Prof. Michael F. Sturley. Prof. Sturley is a founding member of the Admiralty Section of the FBA, as well as one of the directors on the Board of Directors. The interview below, reprinted with permission, covers Prof. […]
  • Headshot of Professor Chesney
    On September 1, 2010, Texas Law Prof. Robert Chesney, along with Harvard Law Prof. Jack Goldsmith and Brookings Institute Senior Fellow Benjamin Wittes, hit “publish” on the first entry of what was then a novel idea: a blog dedicated to the complex and thorny legal issues raised by America’s then-decade-long “war on terror.” As Wittes wrote in […]
  •   Texas Law’s annual graduation festivities, known as the Sunflower Ceremony, were held this past Saturday. The Law School graduated 312 J.D.s and 43 LL.M.s. The Hon. Debra H. Lehrmann, Justice of the Texas Supreme Court and a proud member of the Class of 1982 gave the keynote address. Below is a copy of of her prepared […]
  • Texas Law’s annual graduation festivities, known as the Sunflower Ceremony, were held this past Saturday. The Law School graduated 312 J.D.s and 43 LL.M.s. Permanent Class President Sophia Makris addressed her classmates and their guests. Below is a transcript of her remarks: Good afternoon to the administration, faculty, family and friends, and of course the Class […]
  • Since 1958, the Texas Exes have honored those alumni who have distinguished themselves professionally and through service to the University of Texas. They have just announced the winners of the 2017 Distinguished Alumnus Awards, and the list includes two exceptional Texas Law alumni: John L. Adams ’69 and Michael L. “Mickey” Klein ’63. Both men are, in […]
  • Six graduates of the Texas Law Class of 2017 have received prestigious postgraduate public service fellowships from Equal Justice Works, Gideon’s Promise, as well as the William Wayne Justice Center for Public Interest Law at the law school. “These outstanding graduates are committed to serving the public and we are very proud of their many accomplishments,” […]